Research Units

At the Geophysical Institute the diversity of our research focus is reflected by our disciplinary-based, functional groupings of faculty and research staff. These divisions are: space physics and aeronomy, atmospheric sciences, snow, ice, and permafrost, seismology, volcanology, and tectonics and sedimentation. Along with an ubiquitous, cross-discipline remote sensing group, these research divisions reflect the range and diversity of the active scientific research projects which reach from the center of the sun to the center of the earth and beyond.

  • Aeronomy & Auroral Physics
  • Middle Atmosphere
  • Ionospheric Physics
  • Radio Physics
  • Magnetospheric Physics
  • Solar & Interplanetary Physics


  • Geochronology & Paleomagnetism
  • Solid Earth Geophysics
  • Straitigraphy & Sedimentation
  • Structural Geology
  • Tectonics


  • Intraplate Volcanism
  • Plate Margin Volcanism
  • Volcanism & Climate
  • Seismology
  • Volcanic Hazards


Education Group

• K-12 education
• Higher education
• Community events
• Scientific meetings

  • Atmospheric Chemistry & Physics
  • Atmospheric Dynamics & Climate Change
  • Radiation Budget
  • Clouds of the upper atmosphere