2015 Award Winners

Here are the winners and nominees for the 2015 fiscal year.


Best faculty and student published papers as 1st Author 


Faculty winner

Ed Bueler and Taryn Lopez 

Faculty nominees

E. Bueler and W. van Pelt. Mass-conserving subglacial hydrology in the Parallel Ice Sheet Model version 0.6. Geosci. Model Dev., 8, 1613–1635, 2015, www.geosci-model-dev.net/8/1613/2015/, doi:10.5194/gmd-8-1613-2015.

Stephen Holtkamp and Natalia Ruppert. A High Resolution Aftershock Catalog of the Magnitude 7.5 Craig, Alaska, Earthquake on 5 January 2013. Bulletin of the Seismological Society of America, Vol. 105, No. 2B, May 2015, doi: 10.1785/0120140179.

T. Lopez, H.E. Thomas, A.J. Prata, A. Amigo, D. Fee, D. Moriano. Volcanic plume characteristics determined using an infrared imaging camera. Journal of Volcanology and Geothermal Research 300 (2015) 148–166.

X. Ma, B. Stauffer, P. A. Delamere, and A. Otto. Asymmetric Kelvin-Helmholtz propagation at Saturn’s dayside magnetopause. J. Geophys. Res. Space Physics, 120, 1867–1875, doi:10.1002/2014JA020746.

F.J. Meyer, D.B. McAlpin, W. Gong, O. Ajadi, S. Arko, P.W. Webley, and J. Dehn. Integrating SAR and derived products into operational volcano monitoring and decision support systems ISPRS Journal of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing 100 (2015) 106–117.
William R. Simpson, Steven S. Brown, Alfonso Saiz-Lopez, Joel A. Thornton, and Roland von Glasow. Tropospheric Halogen Chemistry: Sources, Cycling, and Impacts. Chem. Rev. 2015, 115, 4035−4062. doi: 10.1021/cr5006638.

M. T. Whalen, M. G. Ski, J. H. Payne, J. E. Day, D. Chen and A. Da Silva. Chemostratigraphy and magnetic susceptibility of the Late Devonian Frasnian–Famennian transition in western Canada and southern China: implications for carbon and nutrient cycling and mass extinction.In: Da Silva, A. C., Whalen, M. T., Hladil, J., Chadimova, L., Chen, D., Spassov, S., Boulvain, F., & Devleeschouwer, X. (eds) 2015. Magnetic Susceptibility Application: A Window onto Ancient Environments and Climatic Variations. Geological Society, London, Special Publications, 414, 37–72.


Student winner

Anna Worden and Christian Kienholz 

Student Nominees

Sean R. Barberie, Christopher R. Iceman, Catherine F. Cahill, and Thomas M. Cahill. Evaluation of Different Synchrotron Beamline Configurations for X-ray Fluorescence Analysis of Environmental Samples. Anal. Chem. 2014, 86, 8253−8260. dx.doi.org/10.1021/ac5016535.

Christian Kienholz, Sam Herreid, Justin L. Rich, Anthony A. Arendt, Regine Hock, and Evan W. Burgess. Derivation and analysis of a complete modern-date glacier inventory for Alaska and northwest Canada. Journal of Glaciology, Vol. 61, No. 227, 2015. doi: 10.3189/2015JoG14J230.

S. H. Lee, H. Zhang, Q.-G. Zong, Y. Wang, A. Otto, H. Rème, and K.-H. Glassmeier. Asymmetric ionospheric outflow observed at the dayside magnetopause. Geophys. Res. Space Physics, 120, 3564–3573, doi:10.1002/2014JA020943. 

Kathleen McKee, David Fee, Colin Rowell, and Akihiko Yokoo. Network-Based Evaluation of the Infrasonic Source Location at Sakurajima Volcano, Japan. Seismological Research Letters 85, 6, November/December 2014, doi: 10.1785/0220140119. 

Susana Salazar Jaramillo, Paul J. Mccarthy, Tom P. Trainor, Sarah J. Fowell, and Anthony R. Fiorillo. Origin of clay minerals in alluvial paleosols, Prince Creek formation, North Slope, Alaska, U.S.A: influence of volcanic ash on pedogenesis in the late cretaceous arctic. Journal of Sedimentary Research, 2015, v. 85, 192–208 Research Article, doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.2110/jsr.2015.12. 

Anna Worden, Jonathan Dehn, and Peter Webley. Frequency based satellite monitoring of small scale explosive activity at remote North Pacific volcanoes. Journal of Volcanology and Geothermal Research 286 (2014) 1–14.


Roger Smith Lifetime Achievement Award

Neal Brown


TK More Prize

David Fee 


Staff Performance Award


Erin Albertson 


Katie Best, Sabrina Cook, Debbie Coxon, Kimberly Cummins, Donavan Kienenberger, Sue Mitchell and Lisa Piechocki


Staff Community Service Award


Dale Pomraning 


Greg Shipman


Student Award


Jay R. Byam 


Kathleen McKee


Additional Awards and Honors

Sean Barberie 

Earth Science Information Partners Fellowship 


Cathy Cahill 

Alliance to Save Energy 2015 Unsung Hero Award 


Laura Conner 

Champion for Youth Award, 2015 


Hajo Eicken 

2015 Usibelli Award 


Hannah Foss 

2016 Fairbanks Chamber of Commerce Artist of the Year 


David Newman 

2015 Usibelli Award 


Jill Shipman 

AGU 2015 Outstanding Student Presentation Award: Public Affairs Focus Group 


Wade Albright, Scott Arko, Jeff Beiderbeck, Nettie La Belle-Hamer, Mike Stringer 

2015 NASA Honor Award