Award Winners and Nominees

The current nominees are available here


Description of Awards

Best faculty and student published papers as 1st Author (1ea).

This award recognizes the best publication from one faculty member and one student. The winners are chosen based on nominations by the group leaders and selected by a committee of faculty members from each research group.

Roger Smith Lifetime Achievement Award

The Roger Smith Lifetime Achievement Award was created to recognize significant long-term contribution to the success of the Geophysical Institute.  This Award singles out those individuals who have demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to the Geophysical Institute and who have made sustained contributions to the success of its research mission.

TK More Prize

This award recognizes an early career researcher on a path to becoming a leader in their field.

Staff Performance Award

This award recognizes a staff member who has made a substantial contribution to the GI mission by going above and beyond their job duties and/or having provided exceptional contributions to the unit while acting as a positive role model to their peers. This individual would not only be a valuable asset to the GI but would make it a point to share their knowledge and expertise to create a better work environment.

Staff Community Service Award

This award recognizes a staff member who goes above and beyond to contribute to the wellbeing of the community around them. Their generous efforts are recognized for the work they do for the GI community, the greater Fairbanks area, and/or across the state.

Student Award

This award recognizes a student staff member who has gone above and beyond the expectations of those duties written into an everyday student position. Please note, this individual should not be nominated based off of their academic standing. This award is meant to recognize student employees for their professional contributions here at the Geophysical Institute.