Eicken recognized for pioneering sea ice research

October 4, 2010


Professor of Geophysics Hajo Eicken was awarded the 2010 Louis Agassiz Medal by the European Geosciences Union. The EGU selected Eicken for his outstanding contribution to the study of both the physical and biological properties of sea ice and for the scientist’s pioneering methods applied in the field as well as the laboratory.


The EGU’s Division on Cryospheric Sciences established the Louis Agassiz Medal in 2005 in honor of the scientific achievements of Louis Agassiz. The medal is awarded yearly to individuals that provide outstanding scientific contributions to the understanding of the cryosphere on Earth and elsewhere in the solar system.