Skip to main content
  • 1959
    Alaska's Statehood
    Dwight D. Eisenhower signing Alaska's proclamation for statehood

    Alaska statehood is proclaimed on Jan. 3, 1959, after President Dwight D. Eisenhower signs the proclamation making Alaska the 49th state.

  • 1961
    Glaciology Studies Expand
    Two persons next to a plane and equipment on tundra snow

    Glaciology studies rapidly expand, along with low temperature air pollution, snow cover examination, glacier-volcano interaction studies on Mount Wrangell in Alaska's interior and katabatic wind studies in Antarctica. Carl Benson is instrumental in the development of these research areas.